Discuss Solar Power Expert Needed in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

MikeM3

-
Reaction score
I am a retired Electrician and started looking at Solar Power, (Black Magic to me),
after much reading of "How To", I decided to build myself a system, bat as I don't
have a roof, I live in a ground flat, I decided to build a portable unit, I get the sun
in the living room in the morning and in the kitchen in the afternoon.

The unit that I have built has 6 X 1,000 watt panels, 2 X 130 AH leisure Batteries
and a 3Kw/6Kw peak, pure sine wave inverter, it all works very well, so far.

I would like to double the output, to 6Kw or more, my initial idea was to buy a second
inverter of the same make and size as the one that I have and parallel them, but I was
advised against it, by the supplier as they would not be compatible!

Having read more on the subject I find that some inverters are incompatible, because
of the design, I cannot find out what that is.

The question is, have any of you here managed to overcome this seemingly crazy bit
of design and managed to parallel two such units?

I am thinking that equalising/balancing transformers, one for each, would fix this, any
ideas?

The inverter that I have has no earth!

Mike.
Project 1.jpg

6 x 1000 watt panels without a roof ,are these in the garden? Where do you get 1000 watt solar panels from? The trouble with inverters is they have to up the mains voltage to feed back if this is a grid tied system , if it’s not then you can’t ensure the phase angle is the same which will most likely burn both devices up, you may be able to add a grid tie inverter ,this would synch the waveform

Thank you for the reply Newfutile, here is a picture of the panels, I got them from China, they
are quite a recent thing.
I have been reading more about paralleling inverters and unless they are built to do so, it is
impossible, they must be the same design and manufacture, then on is designated the lead